Monday, October 10, 2011

Help Fund RISK! a funny funny podcast!


http://www.indiegogo.com/Keep-RISK-Running

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Netflix freezing on iPad... and the Fix!


Netflix kept freezing up / locking up on my iPad every time I used it. This started yesterday and did it for every freaking show... but only on my iPad... not on the computer, iPhone or Wii. So what gives? Networking glitch with the iPad. All I had to do was reset my network connection and all is well.

Here is a great description of the fix!

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Magic iPhone

Magic iPhone by petrus01
Magic iPhone, a photo by petrus01 on Flickr.

Your smart phone, some tiny money, and a magic trick!

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Taco Calorie???


So I went to lunch with a friend today at a local Mexican restaurant, Margaritas. This is a really wonderful place and the food is amazing.... however they flatly refuse to disclose nutritional information. I ordered 4 tacos (hard shell, beef, cheese, lettuce) on their buy 1 get 1 lunch special. So how many calories did I eat?
Again, as they refuse to post this information; Let me be the first to make a guess-estimation based upon several items online.

  1. Eat this not that: Says I should have ordered a burrito instead of tacos because of the frying process the taco shells undergo. My first blunder.
  2. The Lose-it app for the iPhone places general crunchy beef tacos at 571 calories each. DAMN!
  3. Another app, GoMeals, places a taco between 160 - 200 calories depending on ingredients.
  4. Comparing Margaritas tacos to Taco Bell tacos is not very scientific, but thankfully, Yum! Brands does give out nutritional information. Taco Bell beef tacos come in at 170 calories.
  5. An unnamed person did a great job of gathering Mexican meal nutritional information. It appears 2 small tacos are: 395 cal.
  6. Calorie Count website estimates a crunchy taco at 571! The same number as the Lose-it app. .... ugh... I can feel chest pains already.

So there is some discrepancy, so let me break this large fried taco down:
  • Taco Shell (large): 100 calories
  • Beef: 90
  • Iceberg Lettuce: 10
  • Cheese: 57
  • Salsa: 10
  • TOTAL: 267 calories

So... how many calories did I eat at lunch for the 4 tacos? Well I don't know for sure... but I will tend to error on the high side as Margaritas' tacos are a bit greasy (which makes them damn yummy... ya I know I disgust myself). So I'm guessing a Margareta fried taco is around 300 calories each. How did I get to this number. It seems to be within average of the online estimates and close to my estimate. I would love for the large restaurant to offer real hard numbers, but in the mean time, I'm sticking with my number.

Now for the sad part.... because I didn't eat breakfast, I was hungry and ate all 4. They filled me up... and added 1200 calories to my bottom line. Guess I need to get on that treadmill. :)

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Twitpic and Your Rights


If you want to keep rights to your photo... DON'T post it to Twitpic
A celebrity photo agency called World Entertainment News Network now has the exclusive right to license and sell photos Twitter users post to their own accounts, using the app Twitpic.
LINK 1
LINK 2

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Seven Tips to Better Landscape Photos


The New York Times has a good article on 7 ways to take better landscape photos.
Check it out here!

photo credit: paul bica

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Comments back up.


If you have been here for awhile, you noticed I had to take down the comments section due to spamming. It just got to be way to much work to manually filter the spam. Well, its been awhile, and I'm ready to give it another shot. So comment if you wish. (And if you are a spammer... you will be deleted.)

Dog Tease Video


This has got to be the funniest thing I've seen in quite some time!!!

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Sketching & Painting app for your iPad... from Autodesk!!!


Autodesk, the makers of AutoCAD and Revit, have a cool drawing / painting app for the Apple iPad. It's called SketchBook and it looks really easy to use and powerful. I will say that Autodesk has a way to complicate the simplest of computer commands (nothing is ever simple with them) but it appears that this interface is very intuitive.

At this writing, I don't own and iPad... but this looks to be one of the first apps I'll purchase and review when I do get mine (here in a few months). If you have used this app, let me know what you think.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Many ways to promote & improve your Blogger Blog!


Ways to improve your Blogger blog!!!

Firewall Europe??!!??

The Pirate Bay: “The Battle of Internets is About to Begin” | TorrentFreak: "In February, a secret meeting of the European Union’s Law Enforcement Work Party (LEWP) resulted in a worrying proposal.

To deal with illicit sites on the Internet, the group suggested the adoption of a China-like firewall to block websites deemed ‘inappropriate’. The controversial proposal immediately met resistance from various sides, including ISPs who would be tasked with maintaining the blocklist.

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

How clients suddenly become social media experts!


Wonderful blog posting about client expectations in the social media sphere.... and the pitfalls. Check out the short blog post right HERE

Monday, May 2, 2011

Powerful Image


P050111PS-0210
Originally uploaded by The White House

Very powerful image of the leaders of the USA receiving updates on the mission against Osama bin Laden.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Mississippi town figures out simple, effective way to stop Westboro Baptist Church funeral protest


Really great article on how a small town combated the Westboro Baptist Church.

A couple of days before, one of them (Westboro protestors) ran his mouth at a Brandon gas station and got his arse waxed. Police were called and the beaten man could not give much of a description of who beat him. When they canvassed the station and spoke to the large crowd that had gathered around, no one seemed to remember anything about what had happened.

Rankin County handled this thing perfectly. There were many things that were put into place that most will never know about and at great expense to the county.

Most of the morons never made it out of their hotel parking lot. It seems that certain Rankin county pickup trucks were parked directly behind any car that had Kansas plates in the hotel parking lot and the drivers mysteriously disappeared until after the funeral was over. Police were called but their wrecker service was running behind and it was going to be a few hours before they could tow the trucks so the Kansas plated cars could get out.

A few made it to the funeral but were ushered away to be questioned about a crime they might have possibly been involved in. Turns out, after a few hours of questioning, that they were not involved and they were allowed to go on about their business.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Safe House













This house can be closed up with a push of a button. Nice for security and when storms come knocking. Really in the closed position it does not exhibit much architecture or design.... but in the open position the building takes on a fine quality of letting the indoors and outdoors intermix. Nicely done KWK!

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Monday, April 11, 2011

Nebula iPhone Background


Nebula iPhone Background
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

This iPhone Background (640x960 wallpaper) is released under the Creative Commons Attribution license.

Nebula iPhone Background


Nebula iPhone Background
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

This iPhone Background (640x960 wallpaper) is released under the Creative Commons Attribution license.

Nebula iPhone Background


Nebula iPhone Background
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

This iPhone Background (640x960 wallpaper) is released under the Creative Commons Attribution license.

Almost 900 Seamless Textures


Almost 900 Seamless Textures
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

I was just looking over my files yesterday and really realized that I have almost 900 seamless textures up here for download... and they are all free for folks to download and use.
It's been a fun 900.... and I look forward to the next 900.
so.... go download 'em! :)

Fire Box - Seamless Texture


887 - Fire Box - Seamless Texture
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Commodore 64 is back baby!!!


Nope this is not an April fools joke, the modern version of the machine is coming back to the future!!! It seems to be loaded with new technology, can be booted into Windows, AND can boot into the old C64 OS and play all the classic games! BOOYAH!!

Sunday, March 27, 2011

1984 - iPhone Background


1984 - iPhone Background
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

I’ve uploaded a 3 new iPhone Background (Wallpaper, Texture) to my Flickr page

Friday, March 25, 2011

Get extra free storage on DropBox using this link...

If you are considering using Dropbox (to backup files, or to sync your laptop with your desktop) please consider using THIS LINK. By getting a referral from me you gain an extra 250 MG of storage free of charge! FREE I tell ya!!! Just click on the link, sign up and you will have extra free storage!

Sync your files online and across computers with Dropbox. 2GB account is free! (plus the extra .25GB using this link) http://db.tt/BHRhrXm


So what exactly is Dropbox?

Well it's the file synchronization/backup service that you have been thinking/dreaming about. The most basic use of Dropbox would have you install the Dropbox client on 2 computers and the contents of your Dropbox folder would synchronize automatically between them. No need to remember to upload or download the latest copy. No forgetting your thumbdrive, or forgetting to burn that file to CD/DVD. The latest version of your file will be on any computer attached to your account, automatically.

So what happens if you delete a file in your Dropbox, well it gets deleted from all the other computers on your account too. "OH NO" you say, "I accidentally deleted that file". No worries, the dropbox website has the ability to undelete your file, just login to the website, and find the deleted files link. "Well I have my file", you say, "but my cat apparently took up typing while I was out, and somehow saved over my doctoral thesis". No problem here either, dropbox keeps the revisions of you files so you can revert to an older copy, just go to the Dropbox website and click the little arrow next to your file and choose revisions. There you will see all the previous versions of your file.

If that was all there was to Dropbox, then it would be an amazing service, but there is more. Pictures, you have lots of pictures right? The kids, the pets, parties, whatever, well Dropbox can store these in folders in it's "Photos" folder, right click any folder in the Dropbox Photo folder and choose "View Gallery" and you'll see your pictures, click on one and it starts a slide show. Cool huh, but pictures are for sharing right? On the gallery page there is a URL (web address) that you can email or post on your website so other people can see the gallery and slide show too.

Then there are shared folders. Sharing can be done between dropbox users, right click a folder in your dropbox and choose share and you can then invite another user to share it. Each one of you can put files in the folder for each other, and you each have full access to the files. So you can each edit, delete, add files etc. The only thing to be aware of is that files in the shared folder count against the quota of all people sharing it. Does the person you want to share with not have a dropbox account? Invite them, you'll find invites in your account homepage on the left.

WOW, what a cool service, but wait, there is still one more thing. Want to share a file with anyone? Don't want to bother with them having a Dropbox account? Well then drop the file in your "Public Folder", then right click and choose "Copy Public URL". E-mail this link, or post it on your web page for people to use, no fuss to it.

So that's Dropbox, you've been dreaming about a service like this, one that makes it so easy you almost don't have to think about it.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Earthquake and Tsunami in Japan.

Our hearts and prayers go out to all those who were affected by the Earthquake and Tsunami in Japan.
http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2011/03/earthquake-in-japan/100022/

Thursday, March 10, 2011

When did the American Middle Class become the Bad Guys?


Such a shame that the Republican Senators in Wisconsin are so out of touch with those they say they represent. It is so obvious that they don't represent the people, but do represent special interests.
So when did the American poor & middle class become the bad guys?

CHICAGO — A bill sharply curtailing collective bargaining rights for government workers in Wisconsin is due for a vote in the State Assembly on Thursday morning, where it is all but sure to pass. The State Senate approved similar legislation Wednesday with only Republican members casting votes; the chamber’s Democratic minority, who fiercely oppose the measure, remain out of the state.

Monday, February 28, 2011

To Block A Gay-Straight Alliance, Texas High School Shuts Down All Extracurricular Clubs


A Corpus Christi, TX school district has responded to a student's request to create a Gay-Straight Alliance -- by shutting down all extracurricular clubs on campus.
Really.... are Texas School Leaders really this stupid? This kind of sounds like a fall-back to the days of segregation.

I personally would like to award, Superintendent Julie Carbajal, the Moron of the Year award, for outstanding intolerance and stupidity when teaching our children. Way to go Carbajal!

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Resolutions

See, you know how to make the resolution, you just don't know how to keep the resolution. And, that's really the most important part of the resolution...the keeping. Anybody can just MAKE them!

Discovery Launch

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Free Photoshop Brushes at Brusheezy!

Free Photoshop Brushes at Brusheezy!:

Shape Collage - Windows Software Download

Shape Collage
Really cool free app for making a collage of all your photos. Neat!!!

Julia Messenger - Like a Magic Show Song

I just heard Julia Messenger's song, 'Like a Magic Show Song' on YouTube today and went looking to download the song. But she has not released it to the public yet. Bummer.

You can listen to the song also by going to her page at: http://www.musicxray.com/xrays/14712

Save PBS (Public Brodcasting System)


Really, I can't believe the House is considering Killing funding (and in turn Big Bird) for PBS and NPR. Amazing how those same congressmen are pro-education.... but anti-education at the exact same time.

Congressmen, this is my open letter to you. Please stop being hypocritical and please continue to fund all education resources. Please continue to fund PBS and NPR. Truly, America needs to educate our children when they are young so they can grow up to lead this nation. Cutting the funding will save very little money, and will cost us in the long run far more than our savings.
--- Patrick

170 Million Americans website

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Replacing Outlook with GMail - Part 1


I talked several posts back about my repeated problems with Outlook. I also discussed how to fix a broken Outlook database by using Microsofts recovery tool (scanpst). But what I've yet to discuss is how I solved my issue. I solved it by switching completely to Google GMail.

Google Gmail was something I originally used to run all my mail through just before pulling it into Outlook. You see Google has an amazing spam catching service. My spam went from MANY down to just 1 or 2 a month. Just do a google search for 'using google as spam filter' and you will find pages and pages on how to do just such a thing. So technically I was already using Google for filtering my mail, but I rairly used it to read and organize my mail. but that all changed just a few weeks back......

After my Outlook refused to do anything (oh it would open, but that was it), I was forced to open Google to view my mail. I never liked that I couldn't preview my mail like I could in Outlook, but Google has a setting (in Google Labs) for allowing you to right-click to preview the mail. This was great! So while Outlook was down, I started using GMail every day. I found I liked the filters, the previews, and the add-ons in the Labs area.

Google Labs has many extra features that can enhance the email experience. AutoAdvance through reading emails; Google Docs previews; Hyperlink addresses to Google Maps; Insert images into the body of an email; and Undo sent emails. They have so many more features that take the Canned G-Mail and make it Your-Mail. ok, that was corny, but true.

What already knew, but really really really learned was that I was able to check my mail anywhere. Laptop, phone, work, and my home computer. All the emails stayed in Google so an email I got last week could be referenced anywhere. This sold it for me.... I was staying in the cloud baby!!! No more emails trapped on my computer when I needed them at the office. No more fighting with Microsoft's horrible interface. and finally, No more crashing Outlook.

Next post I'll discuss the quick and easy process of using IMAP to pull/share your email on your computer with G-Mail. It really is the final step to chucking Outlook to the curb.

Death of a Washing Machine

Sunday, February 20, 2011

SketchUp for Landscapes Blog


If you are an avid user of SketchUp you may have several blogs you read to keep up to date. I really want to encourage everyone to check out John Pacyga's blog, SketchUp for Landscapes. It is a well written blog with timely and informative links and articles.

Check it out!

Fixing Outlook


As many of us (me included) have learned, Outlook is about as stable as a house of cards. One rouge sneeze and it refuses to work. This has happened to me three times. The first two times I could not recover the PST database, and this last time I was fortunately able to repair the file.

To repair a damaged Outlook PST file you will need to:
  1. locate your Outlook.pst file
  2. download Microsofts recovery tool (Scanpst.exe) (this is also suppose to be installed with Outlook but I can't find it on either of my two computers.... go figure.
  3. Run Scanpst file.
Again, this helped me 1 out of 3 times, which in my book is not good at all. This is why I have chucked Outlook and have moved over to using Google G-Mail full time. I'll show you how to move to Gmail also in the next blog post!

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Wikileaks: U.S. believes Saudi Arabia is running out of oil — Autoblog

Wikileaks: U.S. believes Saudi Arabia is running out of oil — Autoblog: "Peak oil, according to Wikipedia, is the point in time when the maximum rate of global petroleum extraction is reached, after which the rate of production enters terminal decline. Opinions vary on when the world will actually reach a peak oil scenario, but a new report detailed by Julian Assange's infamous Wikileaks website indicates the United States believes it's staring us right in the face – as early as 2012.

iPhone Water Damage Policy

iPhone Water Damage Policy – what to Know

RepairLaunch wrote a great article about Apples new water damage policy which loosens up their criteria for when a phone is denied coverage. This is a good thing for consumers... its just a shame it took a lawsuit to force Apple to acknowledge their water sensor is not perfect.

Courts Find 'Rum and Coca-Cola' Was Plagiarized

Courts Find 'Rum and Coca-Cola' Was Plagiarized 1940's

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Dell XPS17


Dell XPS17
Originally uploaded by Patrick Hoesly

My new Dell XPS17
i7 M740 1.73 GHz
8 gig memory
1.2 T hard drive
Nvidia GT 445M 3 Gig
blueray / DVDrw
backlighted keyboard
1600x900 screen (I know this is lower than I would like)

I received this machine a couple weeks ago and finally got all my software installed. It really is a nice computer and functions as my mobile desktop. It runs my 3D software quite well. Fast motherboard, memory and hard drive (all standard) makes the system roar. The bright crisp screen is easy on the eyes and the back-lit keyboard makes it easy to use at night.

People ask me about how hot the machine gets, and you can feel the heat if it is sitting on your lap, however the fan (blowing out to the left) seems to be adequate enough to cool down the system. I've not seen any instability issues when the machine is running flat out, so I think Dell sized the fan to handle the potential load.

The only thing I dislike about the system is the low resolution screen (1600x900) they packaged with the system. I wish I had the option to upgrade the screen to a higher resolution. This also appears to be the biggest complaint from other customers.

I would highly recommend a Dell computer to anyone based on their accidental warranty and North American tech support (though it does cost more to get that service). In the past I have found Dell to be very helpful and they have been quick to remedy any parts which have failed (which have not been many).

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Compare Us vs Them

compare where you live with another country with If It Were My Home

Interesting stuff to learn about where you live vs another country. Really, you would think this would make you feel smug about your country, but this site shows off the good and the bad about the two countries.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Wednesday, January 12, 2011